Noseda conducts classical masterpieces with London Symphony Orchestra

On June 21st, Gianandrea Noseda led the London Symphony Orchestra at the NCPA, where they performed classics by Dvořák, Liszt and Shostakovich with famous pianist Yefim Bronfman.

Led by Gianandrea Noseda, the London Symphony Orchestra staged performance with Yefim Bronfman
Photo by WANG Xiaojing

In 2012, the London Symphony Orchestra made its debut at the NCPA under the leadership of principle conductor Valery Gergiev, followed by returns in 2014 and 2017 respectively under the leadership of principle guest conductor Daniel Harding. The orchestra came under the leadership of principle guest conductor Gianandrea Noseda, the first that he and London Symphony Orchestra appeared together at the NCPA.

Their performance won warm applause from the audience
Photo by WANG Xiaojing

Noseda has remained active on stage all over the world in recent years. He is Artistic Director of the National Symphony Orchestra of the USA and Teatro Regio di Torino, and works closely with influential symphony orchestras such as the London Symphony Orchestra, Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, New York Philharmonic Orchestra and Paris Orchestra. Pianist Yefim Bronfman, who is a frequent visitor to world-class symphony orchestras such as the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra and Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, often gives piano recitals in London, New York, Vienna, Berlin, etc. In 2014, he appeared at the NCPA, where he impressed the audience with his virtuosity. This time, he performed a piano concerto by Liszt, showing off his consummate performing skills.

On the evening, the concert kicked off with the performance of Dvorak’s The Noon-Day Witch, a symphonic poem composed in 1896 and premiered in London in November the same year. The London Symphony Orchestra selected this work for its tour to establish a subtle connection between London’s profound cultural tradition of music and composer Dvořák’s composing career, which demonstrates how the orchestra stands dedicated to its repertoire scheduling. Then, pianist Bronfman performed Liszt’s Piano Concerto No. 2 in A major along with the orchestra. He performed calmly and precisely, his piano solo fitting the orchestral concerto impressively.

Pianist Yefim Bronfman
Photo by WANG Xiaojing
In the second half, the London Symphony Orchestra performed Russian composer Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 10 in E minor. The London Symphony Orchestra gave two encores - The Good News From Beijing Spreads To Borderland, featured with Chinese traditional music characteristics and Dvořák’s Slavonic Dances, Op. 72, No. 7.